Just played my first solo game (in preparation for teaching it on Monday night). Most of the game flows well, but I had one question regarding the Buccaneer card and combats in General.
I take Beowulf ( 

 0  

 0 ) and have one of the crew fly the Armed Gig ( 
   
 +1)with Jim Thorne ( 
  
  
 +1)  into combat against the Buccanerr ( 

 1 

 1  

 1 ).  As the player, I attack first and do 2 damage to the Buccaneer which exceeds its 

 1 and vaporizes the pirate scum. However...
(1) Is combat simultaneous or sequential? I assume simultaneous from the way the rules are written.
(2) As the Beowulf has 

 0, the 

 1 of the Buccaneer does what to the ship? There isn't any 

 shown on the card, so does that imply 

 1 and my ship is blown out from under me?
Thanks
jmt